Beating In The Bathroom

The following video has made the rounds recently. In the video, we see a White guy getting searched and interrogated by a bouncer in the bathroom of a strip club. The bouncer, who is a larger Black man, accuses him of selling drugs, asks him to empty his pockets, takes money out of his wallet and looks through his phone. Around minute mark 2:50 in the video, the bouncer begins punching the White guy in the head, a total of four times. He locks him in the bathroom and then demands that the White guy kneel on the ground and pray to the, “Great fucking brown dude.” After all is said and done, the Black guy takes all the White guy’s money and sends him on his way.

The news story says that a second bouncer was filming the incident and it was later posted on the internet, most likely for the purposes of amusement, since it landed on World Star Hip Hop. After police got wind of this video, the bouncer, 35-year-old Easton Byfield, was arrested and charged with assault and battery, kidnapping, unarmed robbery and filing a false police report. The filing of a false police report charge came about because the numbskull actually reported that the White guy assaulted him! If you’ve watched the video, you can clearly see that’s not the case.

This video got me heated, not because of the racial angle, as many sites have played up, but because this has happened to me in the past. In my younger, more hedonistic days, I was a hardcore clubber, hitting the clubs 3 to 4 times a week. Illicit drugs were abundant and there came a time when there was a rash of bouncers searching and confiscating money and drugs from club goers. Anyone they suspected of carrying drugs, they searched and robbed, because they knew that if you had even the most minor amount of illegal substances on you, then you weren’t going to call the police. Some clubs were terrible about this.

Once a bouncer followed me into the bathroom and put me in a choke hold, demanding that I give up everything that I was holding or he was going to call the police. Since I didn’t have any drugs on me at the time, it was an empty threat and I didn’t comply. That’s where this guy in the video screwed up. He actually did what the bouncer demanded. Sure he was scared of the bouncer, which is understandable considering his size and that he was outnumbered, but since he was so quick to acquiesce, it makes me think that he actually was holding or at least had been selling drugs in the club as the bouncer claimed. Regardless, a bouncer has no right to search you, unless you let him.

This video isn’t an isolated incident, but something that happens at clubs across America. I’ve known guys that were bouncers from different states who bragged about doing exactly this kind of thing. And beating and robbing were only part of it. I’ve known of girls that had bouncers force them to perform sex acts on them. Usually, they’d find girls that were rolling on ecstasy, which is obvious to notice, search them for drugs and then threaten to turn them over to the police unless they gave them what they wanted. In some places, like Florida, where club culture is more widespread, this type of thing is common.

This is not a simple case of Black on White crime as some have framed it, but a pervasive problem with abuse of authority. While I’ve known a lot of bouncers who were good people, many seem to be persons with serious delusions of grandeur that are quick to take advantage of their imagined position of power.

23 thoughts on “Beating In The Bathroom

  1. Of course he picks a little 140-pound, docile-looking dude to shake down.

    There’s no way he’d do this to some guy who is anywhere close to his size.

    I am sure the bouncer also figures that a white guy won’t risk jail time by fighting back, and he’s probably already noticed that the little guy is by himself and doesn’t have 10 or 15 rowdy friends that would back him up. He certainly wouldn’t have done this to a black guy, knowing that some brothers are crazy enough to go to the trunk of their car and come back firing a weapon without regard for witnesses or any of the other risks involved.

    Also, the second bouncer filming the incident should have been arrested, as well.

  2. Camlost said:

    There’s no way he’d do this to some guy who is anywhere close to his size.

    Bouncers don’t just shake down anybody. They usually try to keep an eye out for those with suspicious behavior or who appear to be obviously under the influence of illicit drugs. Since that guy didn’t seem intoxicated, he was probably doing something that made the bouncers think he was dealing. Plus most bouncers that do this kind of thing only do it if they think they can get away with it. In the news article, it says the guy never reported the incident to the police, which is what you’d expect if he was a dealer.

    He certainly wouldn’t have done this to a black guy

    Most of the clubs that I frequented when I was younger, were house/techno clubs, so there weren’t a lot of Black guys out there. Sometimes hoodrats would come into the clubs trying to peddle crack or start some trouble and I’ve seen many a Black guy face down on the ground.

    Also, the second bouncer filming the incident should have been arrested, as well.

    Yeah, without a doubt. I know for some, they might see this as a gray area, since most don’t have sympathy for drug dealers or users. Some have said that if the races were reversed then this would be a huge story. I don’t think so. If the races were reversed, I think most would believe that the guy was in fact a drug dealer and think he got what he deserved. I’m pretty sure that this guy was dealing, but that doesn’t excuse the bouncer’s behavior, IMO.

  3. Sagat-

    I agree with your reasoning that dishonest bouncers would seek out drug dealers because they are less likely to report to the police. And while he didn’t report the crime that’s neither unusual nor irrational. He may have been embarrassed or afraid of retribution for “snitching”. And without the other bouncer’s video he had no evidence. It would be his word against theirs. There would be no case. Plus, the guy didn’t even have any drugs on him. It’s more likely the bouncer caught a glimpse of that big wad of cash and just figured a guy half his size would be an easy mark.

    I went to clubs maybe half a dozen times ever. They’re loud and crowded with drunks, druggies and idiots looking for a quickie. And those are just the people I went there with. ba-dum-bump! But seriously, I can’t think of a more miserable way to spend one’s time.

  4. Fred said:

    They’re loud and crowded with drunks, druggies and idiots looking for a quickie. And those are just the people I went there with. ba-dum-bump! But seriously, I can’t think of a more miserable way to spend one’s time.

    Ha! Yeah, it’s not for everyone. I did a lot of stupid things back then, but I don’t regret a thing, mainly because I don’t live my life with regret. Those were some of the craziest and most fun times of my life. I was big into the club culture and for weird guy like me, it was a good fit. Plus, I got my two children out of that era of my life, so it all worked out for the best. 🙂

  5. Plus most bouncers that do this kind of thing only do it if they think they can get away with it. In the news article, it says the guy never reported the incident to the police, which is what you’d expect if he was a dealer.

    In my view, the bouncer didn’t seem to be actually searching the guy for drugs. He let the little dude empty out his own pockets and didn’t frisk him, either.

    In my mind, this shows that he just wanted to shake down someone that who could strongarm out of a few bucks.

    Maybe there’s more to the story that we don’t know – I’d love to know whether or not the guy has any prior arrests for anything drug-related.

  6. Just out of curiosity, do bouncers really not have the right to search you if you don’t let them?

    To the extent that there was a racial angle, I think it took the form of the black guy taking pleasure form telling a smaller white guy to worship the “great fucking brown dude.”

    I admit, watching a video of a black guy beating down a white guy and demanding that he worship the “great fucking brown dude” made me heated, but I think bouncers in general are POS’s.

  7. Bay area guy said

    Just out of curiosity, do bouncers really not have the right to search you if you don’t let them?

    Bouncers are just private citizens employed by whatever club they work for. They have no more right to search you than a Wal-Mart employee does. When you let bouncers or security frisk and search you when entering a club, you’re giving them your consent to do so. You could simply refuse, but then you couldn’t get into the club.

    I admit, watching a video of a black guy beating down a white guy and demanding that he worship the “great fucking brown dude” made me heated, but I think bouncers in general are POS’s.

    Yeah, I understand why a lot of White people are getting worked up over this video, but like you said a lot of bouncers are POS, regardless of race. I’ve had numerous bad experiences with bouncers and most of them were White, so I’m not as quick to see this as a race issue, though for that particular incident it probably was.

  8. Found this:
    The bouncer’s name is Easton Byfield.
    The name is certainly accurate.
    Cell # -(508) 377-8388 Landline – (508) 757-6228 (may not be current..)
    email eastone@live.com

    He changed his Facebook page:
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1374235530
    Locked down and changed the profile picture. Made available in case any cares to send him a message saying they want to worship the “great fucking brown dude”.

  9. The racial animosity and abuse of power is clear in this video; it is an outrage, clearly an outrage, and a outrage that demands judicial redress.
    But I can personally attest that situations like these go both ways. Though never humiliated in anywhere near so extreme a way, in my role as a musician and critic, while working in entertainment and entertainment media, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been in secured entertainment venues, in which white working-class bouncers (think the Flatbush section of working-class Brooklyn) have copped a abusive, near-degrading attitude towards me, clearly hating to have to defer to a “NAM” with professional I.D. credentials, and making me go through endless if unneccesary identification procedures, which they didn’t demand of white peers.
    Trust that if the circumstances were reversed —– imagining a bunch of Vinnie-Barbucci-type Brooklyn bodybuilder-type security personnel questioning a black thug-like teen in a nightclub bathroom, it’s quite easy for me to imagine eqally abusive interrogation rituals.

  10. Yeah, I understand why a lot of White people are getting worked up over this video, but like you said a lot of bouncers are POS, regardless of race.

    Ok, I see now that Bay Area Guy said what I said but more succinctly.
    Agreed!

  11. Nikcrit said

    Trust that if the circumstances were reversed —– imagining a bunch of Vinnie-Barbucci-type Brooklyn bodybuilder-type security personnel questioning a black thug-like teen in a nightclub bathroom, it’s quite easy for me to imagine eqally abusive interrogation rituals.

    Yeah, and I guarantee that if the races were reversed, most would be saying that the Black guy deserved it for being a drug dealer. I’m not even sure why so many are so quick to proclaim innocence on that White guy. I showed this video to a friend of mine, who used to be a bouncer, and we both agree that guy seemed guilty. I’m not saying he deserved the treatment he got. That actually pissed me off. I’ve known a lot of people that have been robbed in the exact same way. Yeah, they were selling drugs too, but it’s not like the bouncers do this out of moral superiority. Most of the time they’re just looking for easy money.

  12. I’m not even sure why so many are so quick to proclaim innocence on that White guy.

    I haven’t proclaimed innocence or guilt. For all I know he might be an axe murderer. But there was nothing in the video to suggest he was guilty of anything except having a fat wad of cash. Which isn’t that unusual for a shake joint.

  13. obvious point: what’s really outrageous and most egregious, imho, is the humiliation that guy endured by having to ‘pray’ to the ‘mighty big brown dude,’ etc. Trust that part of the incident will longer much, much longer than any sting from the punches.
    To me, incidents like these explain why those incidents you occasionally read about occur in which a disgruntled customer comes into a place and blindly opens fire onto a crowd or specific individual.
    Humiliation more than pain or consideration over a injustice probably most fuels revenge.

  14. nikcrit-

    Good point. The “beating” really didn’t look like much to me. It was more a matter of how outrageous the rest of it was. With 2 guys twice my size I would have taken the punches. But I wouldn’t have submitted to that humiliation no matter what.

  15. “But I wouldn’t have submitted to that humiliation no matter what.

    I know what you’re saying, but I bet that kid in the vid probably would’ve said the same, too —–before something like this ever happened.

    There’s of course no way to say with certainty, but I bet what happened is, in the heat of the moment, the kid goes from being questioned, to all of the sudden and without warning taking some mid-level sucker punches from a guy twice as big as him with another big guy also in the room and filming those punches; so, the kid’s rightfully panicked and wondering how far this bad turn of events is going to go ….. so, when the P.O.S. bouncer makes his humiliating worship demand, quite understandably the only thing going through the kid’s mind is how to make it stop, so before he can even think about it, he submits.
    But I’m damn sure the second he got out of there, he himself couldn’t believe he submitted to that demand —— and that he immediately fantasized about blowing away ‘the big brown dude,’ if not outright literally taking some preliminary steps to doing as much.

    Note: shit like this really burns me up. One of the things about racial prejudice and humiliation that really upsets me is the humiliation element; e.g., not so upset by, says, whites who prefer not to associate with blacks, but proverbial and stereotypical ‘racist[ thugs (usually kids or adult low-lifes) who go out of their way to racially confront ‘others’ and intimidate or even physically attack a “other” in order to vent their particular demons or aggrieved ideology, etc. (biggest example of this: that infamous case in texas in which some white-trash losers chained some old black man to their car and dragged him to his death).
    So, when you read about black or other “NAMs” doing the same thing, and even including a racial element in their craven actions, the irony just kills me and makes me want to punish said “NAMS” even more than I would want of some proverbial white ‘racist”.
    And YES, all you regulars here: I realize that, nowadays, such racial inicdents are nowadays more likely to be instigated by dumb, young NAMs than by equally dumb and young white ‘racists’ —– and for the record, that particular irony stings the Conscientious Mulatto Nikcrit quite hard! 🙂

  16. Pingback: Linkage is Good for You: Last of the Old Edition

  17. Eh, it’s not that humiliating to submit to clearly superior force. I think it’s fine to do what the guy with the gun or big fist demands. You can do it in a way that does not show fear and perhaps even with a sly irony that would be totally lost on a thug, but to suffer say permanent injury or disfigurement – a real possibility – to avoid so minor and pointless a thing is silly. You want me to say something retarded like that? Sure, you got it, buddy. If that will make your damaged ego feel better. I would have done it and then laughed at the loser who needs me to do that kind of thing to make him feel good about himself.

    Of course, to sacrifice real principles or matters of importance because of superior force IS humiliating, and to submit to force that is not clearly superior is also humiliating, or to do it in a way that shows fear, perhaps.

    But in life, it’s useful to make a distinction between risking injury in defense of real interests and principles, and in defense of pointless issues of “face” which so many of us stupidly care about.

Leave a Reply

